Home > Uncategorized > Oh, and Thanksgiving, too …

Oh, and Thanksgiving, too …

December 29, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Though it wasn’t quite like leaving Kevin home alone while the family flew to Paris for Christmas (or when Kevin foiled the burglars at his stepmom’s mansion, for those of you who made it to Home Alone 4), Jenna and I also celebrated an untraditional Thanksgiving — this before our Unconventional Christmas.

Conventional: We had family. Jenna and I flew to Budapest to spend five days with my brother Trey and his family (roll call: wife Denise, son Bryan David, middle son Alexander, daughter Lily), who are missionaries to the region.

Unconventional: We didn’t have electricity; at least not for a few hours. The Hungarian electricity provider scheduled a temporary blackout for their neighborhood from 9 am till noon on Thanksgiving Day. In Hungary, the word for Thanksgiving is Thursday. I’m sure they’re a thankful lot, but this holiday is largely American and Canadian. Life doesn’t stop on the fourth Thursday in November for the rest of the world.

Conventional: We had turkey.

Unconventional: It was barbecued, not roasted in the oven. That’s an instance where unconventional wins. It was good.

Conventional: We had exercise. In the states, Jenna traditionally runs a 5 or 10k on Thanksgiving morning, as do hundreds of thousands across the country.

Unconventional: With the Turkey Trot not possible, my nephew Bryan and I instead rode bikes. We hadn’t planned on it, but when dinnertime rolled around and we realized we were short a few beverages, we hopped on bikes and pedaled to the nearest convenience store. Again, one of the blessings of celebrating Thanksgiving abroad; all the stores are open.

Conventional: We expressed our emotions; many families use Thanksgiving Day to share what they’re thankful for in life.

Unconventional: An old Hungarian man expressed his emotions by sharing why he thought I am an idiot. When Bryan and I pulled up on our bikes after making the run to the convenient store, an old man verbally ripped into me. When, I interrupted him to let him know I was American (which, in Europe, translates to I don’t speak your language), he switched over to English and lectured me about the dangers of nighttime bike riding. This guy must’ve done his thesis on it he had so many facts. Being the day that it was, I told him I was very thankful for his advice.

This was second straight Thanksgiving we spent with Trey and his family. I’ll have to admit, come Thanksgiving next year, wherever we’ll be, part of Jenna and me will be wishing we were in Budapest again.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. Leslie Bendt
    December 29, 2010 at 10:22 pm

    Life and the winter holidays would not be complete without a picture of our traveling family members! Hope you are enjoying your time, visit and holidays.
    Be good, and get a flashing light for the rear fender of your bike. Or, I can send you an air-horn to better manage grumpy old men. Your kindness is impressive.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

